Bash prompt and /etc/profile

sKu.nK

Registered
Hi All

I havent been using OS X long (10.1.5), but I have some experience with Linux.

Could someone please tell me where the bash startup scripts are stored on OS X.

For example on Linux you had the "universal" file located at /etc/profile for all users and then the personalised scripts in ~/.profile.

I can't seem to find these.

I am trying hard to change my $PATH and have managed to but when I quit the terminal and re-open it, it just reverts to it's previous setting?????

My other question is that when you SU to root does it actually log you into the system as root, because whenever I try running apps as root and then check ps - aux it says the process is being run as a normal user ?????

Also if I have SU to root and i type echo $PATH then it just returns the normal users path:confused:

My final question is probably through lack of understanding ;) re:SUDO command.
If I am logged in as normal user (Administrator rights) and SUDO ... then if I enter my root password it won't accept it, I have to enter my administrator passwd not root :confused: again

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I must say though I'm not wonderfully impressed by OS X yet. I think it's PRETTY but there seem like there might be wuite a few things to sort out.
Does Linux run well on iMAC G3 600 256MB RAM ???????

Thanks

Bash does not come by default in OS X versions previous to 10.2 so there are no bash startup files. You can make them if you want: pico /etc/profile and put in the stuff you want and save it...

To set up your path to include something not in it already, put this in /etc/profile or ~/.profile :
export PATH="stuffyouwantinyourpath"
like export PATH="/usr/bin:/usr:/sbin"
or something to that effect.

When you SU to root, it changes THAT TERMINAL to root. Not your whole user setup.

Why should root's PATH be any different than a normal user's path?