How do I setup UseNet groups

mykelee

Registered
I am new to my iMac coming from a PC background. Anyway, this is probably a real simple question, but can anyone help me to setup access to Newsgroups on my iMac (which is what I use to do on a PC via Netscape).

What software do I use in OSX or do I need special software

Many Thanks

Michael

I can whole-heartedly recommend Halime for ease of use. Also, it's freeware (you don't have to pay for it). Some of the other shareware options may have (a few) more advanced options, but Halime is by far the most pleasant for the average user.

http://halime.imdat.de/

enjoy! :D

JeffCGD said:
I can whole-heartedly recommend Halime for ease of use. Also, it's freeware (you don't have to pay for it). Some of the other shareware options may have (a few) more advanced options, but Halime is by far the most pleasant for the average user.

http://halime.imdat.de/

enjoy! :D

I would recommend it, if it didn't create group files over 20 MB and crash a lot. I can't find any good usenet software for OS X, really.

MT Newswatcher X - Disavows all knowledge of articles already read
Entourage - Pathetic threading display options, weak binary support

Is there anything that isn't bloated, handles downloaded/offline posts, and can sort by date in a threaded view?

davidbrit2 said:
I would recommend it, if it didn't create group files over 20 MB and crash a lot. I can't find any good usenet software for OS X, really.

MT Newswatcher X - Disavows all knowledge of articles already read
Entourage - Pathetic threading display options, weak binary support

Is there anything that isn't bloated, handles downloaded/offline posts, and can sort by date in a threaded view?

I don't find that Halime crashes very often at all. Always room for improvement, of course.