Java 1.4.x - Desperate.

sspooner

Registered
I'm a developer and I'm being forced off my mac simply because Apple are now too far behind in the Java stakes.

I've waited, and waited, and waited for Java 1.4 but so far nothing. No, of course, 1.4.1 is available for PC's.

At first I could muddle my way through and have some special files that get around 1.3.1 issues on my Mac (the rest of the office use PC's) but now they are using real Java 1.4 features.

I can no longer build on my mac and have to resort to VirtualPC to be on the same build as my colleagues.

This is very worrying to me. Apple needs to hurry up and get Java 1.4 out, it's getting beyond a joke now.

I know about the seed versions, but they are useless to me as we do not have seed access and are unlikely to choke up the cash as I'm the only Mac developer here.

This sucks.

I agree. Hopefully they'll get 1.4.1 released before Sun puts out 1.5. :p (I wouldn't be all that surprised if they didn't, at this point.)

This sucks.

I don't get it. MacOSX is Unix-based, so couldn't you just install 1.4 at the command line? Or are you saying the 1.4 JVM hasn't been ported to Darwin yet?

Yup, you're right. The Java Virtual machine is not ready yet for MacOSX. I don't know what the hold up is exactly, but it's annoying.

I'd rather get something out sooner and update frequently, but that's just me i guess.

Ya, Apples Java support is starting to piss me off. I want to deply EBJ apps on my box, but I can't figure out where to put the ejb.jar gne the all the javax ejb classes. They've stuck the java src way deep in the System folder!!! Not very easy to find at all!

Can any of you Java gurus help me with this. where do i put the J2EE stuff?

Originally posted by sspooner
Yup, you're right. The Java Virtual machine is not ready yet for MacOSX. I don't know what the hold up is exactly, but it's annoying.

I'd rather get something out sooner and update frequently, but that's just me i guess.